Error message

  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in include_once() (line 590 of /mnt/storage/www/websites/
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in include_once() (line 590 of /mnt/storage/www/websites/
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in include_once() (line 590 of /mnt/storage/www/websites/

Opéra technologique

image de l'oeuvre I.D. de  Alain Fleischer Arnaud Petit

De Alain Fleischer & Arnaud Petit, performance 2015


I.D. is an opera in which technology, revisiting the old tradition of illusion, is used to summon up dream and memory. To this end, a virtual singing figure was created by a process of technological development patiently coordinated by Le Fresnoy. Endowed with a body (thanks to CIRMMT, NUMEDIART and Inria) and a singing voice (thanks to Ircam), this figure comes across first of all as an image, the double of a real singer (Eléonore Lemaire). Surprised by the creation of its reflection, which seems to be alive, our figure starts on an exploration (at once mental, questioning, mnemonic) that may lead her to recognise the nature of this double, which is intimately bound up with her personal history. Alain Fleischer’s narrative, which interrogates both language and memory, undergoes a musical development which bends genres, just like the uncertainty over the identity of the technological character. Overlooking the representation, a mime (Jean Asselin) seems to be the master of ceremonies of this strange event. His gestures control an attentive apparatus, animate the figure, possibly a figment of the singer’s mind. The show is a like a dream which brings to the fore several hidden places of a human and perhaps historical consciousness. Below, the musicians of the “century” orchestra trace the continuity of this narrative which is also musical.

Remerciements Thanks

François Xavier Roth, Emrique Therain, Christophe Rauck, Nathalie Pousset, Anne-Marie Peigné, François Revol, Jacky Lautem, Laurent Delplanque, Bertrand Scalabre, Eric Prigent, Stéphanie Robin, Laurent Grisoni, Andrew Gerszo, Franck adlener, Marcelo Wanderley, Axel Roebel, Luc Ardaillon, Hussein Kamak, Etienne Landon

Crédits Credits

Création musicale : Arnaud Petit
Livret, scénographie et mise en scène : Alain Fleischer
Interprétation : Eléonore Lemaire (soprano), Jean Asselin (mime)
Orchestre « Les Siècles » (formation de chambre)
Lumières : Bruno Nuytten
Coordination technique : Etienne Landon
Création graphique : Paul Guilbert
Collaborations scientifiques : Laurent Grisoni, Marcelo Wanderley

Processus de création
  • Les Siècles
  • Omnibus
  • Théâtre du Nord de Lille
  • Interreg
  • Ministère de la Culture (DGCA)
  • A capella (Mons)
  • McGill University/Montréal
  • CIRMMT (Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Music Media and Technology)
  • INRIA Lille Nord- Europe
  • CNRS (CRIStAL UMR 9189 et IRCICA USR 3380)
  • MINT Université de Lille
  • IRCAM - Centre Pompidou
  • Le Fresnoy - Studio national des arts contemporains, Tourcoing

Oeuvre d' Alain Fleischer produite par Le Fresnoy :

Oeuvre d' Arnaud Petit produite par Le Fresnoy :

Retour à la liste des productions